Apothecaries

 

Before medicine and potions, people must not have had an “apothecary in the world”! 

 

note: Has there been an increase in people going into pharmacology since the Harry Potter books and movies came out? That Snape is such a role model.

double note: Are people on drugs getting apothecarried away?

http://humor-blogs.com/

13 responses to “Apothecaries

  1. “people must not have had an “apothecary in the world”!

    But they were friendly with alchemy

  2. I’ve always called them Harmacies.

  3. I got nothin’

    You’re all too clever for me.

  4. razzbuffnik’s went over my head, but I got pannonica’s.

    jimsmuse: you know this will be the “Million Dollar Question” when you are on the show!

    note: I liked the Rush song inclusion on your video!

  5. Soon none of us will have a Poth to Pith in if the market goes as it goes…… We’ll ALL need pharmacologists.

  6. The artist of that picture either needed or was on drugs.

    I cannot keep up with your blog entries. I am not worthy…

    S. Le: I always wait for your comments to come in batches. It may get worse around Halloween: you’ve been warned.

  7. My guesses on razzbuffnik’s:

    1. “not a care in the world”
    2. “I can be your long lost pal / I can call you Betty / And Betty when you call me / You can call me Al

    planetross: you so Canadian!

  8. pannonica: I think you may be right about this. I’ve been Paul Simonized!!

    I’ll have to wait for an nod either way from the man himself.

    note: are you making reference to my Rush reference? I could be from anywhere. I’m like the wind: I’m like that. ( I don’t dry clothes left outside though)

  9. I am unfamiliar with the word. Wait while I go to Dictionary.com….

    a·poth·e·car·y /əˈpɒθəˌkɛri/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[uh-poth-uh-ker-ee] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation
    –noun, plural -car·ies. 1. a druggist; a pharmacist.
    2. a pharmacy or drugstore.
    3. (esp. in England and Ireland) a druggist licensed to prescribe medicine

    [Origin: 1325–75; ME (< OF) < ML apothécārius seller of spices and drugs, LL: shopkeeper, equiv. to L apothéc(a) shop, storehouse (< Gk apothké; see apo-, theca) + -ārius -ary]

    Oh I see that Apothecary, the pharmacist/chemist type….

    I thought you meant Apothe, Mariah’s brother.

  10. Oh I forgot to say in all the drug talking stuff
    I didn’t keep anyones email, so can you email me again for the flat tony thing, thanks…..

  11. Thanks for the etymology lesson Tony (and yes, I will wait while you look up “etymology”)! I always think it’s cool to find out word origins.

    In other news….what is all this Flat Tony nonsense, and how can I be involved?

  12. Whoa. Jim Woodring rnop. “Frank’s Real Pa” is one of my favorites.
    http://www.jimwoodring.com
    Say Hi to Madame Pupshaw.

  13. Thanks for all the comments.

    Bunk Strutts: thanks for the link. I had never heard of this guy before. He’s out there!

    Tony: jimsmuse must have meant “entymology”: she’s so pedantic sometimes. hee hee.

    jimsmuse: check out Tony’s site for “Flat Stanley” info. This ain’t no library here! hee hee.

    note: “hee hee’s” just don’t have the same feel as smiley faces.

Leave a Reply

