No News Means Old News

 

planetross:Pearl Harbor was attacked 70 years ago yesterday.

Mr. Pettit:John Lennon died 31 years ago today.

Remembering anniversaries is more important than the present.

Kids seem to forget this a lot of the time … and at Christmas and birthdays …

 

note: I’m not interested in the latest news … late news will do.

double note: surfers are probably into the current news.

triple note: seriously, we did have this conversation today.

.

Today #304

I knew today would be over eventually … or uneventually.

10 responses to “No News Means Old News

  1. Why do people say “You’re living in the past”? Wouldn’t that make you a time traveller? And how would they know? Because you’re not there! It’s like they’re talking to the wall (or themselves a few days before.. or something).

    You and I were talking about this stuff – REMEMBER?

    I heard someone say that we will forever hold on to our sports heroes, favourite bands, celebrities, movies and pop culture etc that we loved at the age of 15 years old. 15 is the age that molds who we are forever.

    What do you think of that? I tend to agree for the most part.

  2. I was waiting for “It was 20 years ago today…”

  3. Okay, I admit, it’s taken me until now to realize John Lennon was killed on the Pearl Harbor anniversary. Guess historian has never been my forte.

    • Same for me. I didn’t know. Thanks for depressing me.

      Sorry I can’t keep up with your daily blog. I just come here when I get the time… which is rarely. Your blog is a rare gem so I guess that works.

  4. Does this mean that John Lennon was killed at Pearl Harbour? I bet it was that Lee Harvey Oswald guy again. Hey what’s that thing in the photo???

  5. Thanks for the comments.

    Kelly Pettit: I have nostalgic memories for things that I liked at 15 … but not that Porky’s movie! that was stupid … and didn’t have enough nakedness in it.

    madtante: that would have been a good title for this one.

    Brown Road Chronicles: actually, the attack on Pearl Harbor was on the 7th and John Lennon‘s murder was on the 8th. You are a crap historian. hee hee!

    S. Le: I didn’t mean to depress you. History is a favourite pastime of mine. hee hee!
    I’m a bit spotty getting around to other people’s blogs too lately … or too late.

    Tony: no, he was killed the day after the attack on Pearl Harbor. Pearl Harbour is on Lake Manapouri in New Zealand: I’m not sure if John Lennon was killed on that day though.

    The thing in the photo is called a “cassette tape” … people don’t use them anymore because it was too difficult to spell, hence the rise of the “CD“.

    note: I wanted to add the “u” to Pearl Harbor too, so I Googled it and came up with all that New Zealand information.

  6. Great post. Both the name & content of this post is really unique.

  7. Did Gene Hackman record that tape for you?

  8. Pearl Harbour is in New Zealand? I bet the Kiwis weren’t impressed with the bombs exploding in the lake. It would’ve scared their flightless little feathers off..

  9. Thanks for the comments.

    Arindam: thanks.

    Tooty Nolan: I was thinking of that movie definitely. Classic!

    Tony: there is a Vancouver city in Washington State that probably hates Vancouver B.C., but they can’t do a lot of name calling though … cause they have the same name. (bummer)

Leave a Reply

