Dance Recital Madness 2012

At the end of February for the last 5 years I’ve had the pleasure of going to not one, but two kindergarten dance festivals.

I’m invited!

  

I even get VIP seating at one of them … while I just lurk around at the back of the gym at the other one.

  

At one, I get 30 or 40 kids sitting in the crowd calling my name … and I do my famous “walking down imaginary stairs” move … and sometimes “going down an imaginary elevator” move. I haven’t pulled out “rowing in an imaginary canoe” trick yet … maybe next year.

At the other, I just lurk … and get the occasional nod  … or low flying punch of recognition from kids who see me. This year one kid crawled through my legs without me knowing until the last second.

At one, half the parents wonder who the hell I am … at the other they wonder who the hell I am.

At both, parents keep looking around for a half Japanese kind of kid on stage.

At both, the parents seem to be getting younger.

At both, the kids seem to stay about the same age.

At both, I enjoy a couple of hours of kids in costumes on stage for the first or second or third time of their lives dancing their hearts out to a biased audience … with extensive video equipment.

note: I kind of liked the dinosaurs this year.

 double note: the other of the Big Three are here:

Numata Matsuri 2008 / Numata Matsuri 2009

Kinder Olympics / When Was The Last Time?

Dance Recital Madness / Dance Recital Madness: Day 2 / Another Of The Big Three

.

Today #352

Today turned out better than I thought it would: I shouldn’t doubt Sundays.

7 responses to “Dance Recital Madness 2012

  1. Sweet kids! My favorite costume — and pose — is the little chicken>
    I bet those parents were looking for the really tall, half Japanese kind of kid!

  2. Speaking as the parent of my own kindergartener, I’d deeply love to be there to see the show too. Not just for the antics, which should be epic, but also to see your mime skills. This looks like a great time!

  3. Kids make the world smile and bring us many wonderful memories. I am glad you had many smiles. 🙂 Have a fantastic week. 🙂

  4. Those kids are cute but THE COSTUMES?! Wow. That’s a lot of work.

  5. Thanks for the comments.

    Donald Diddams: I like the chicken outfit too! I had to take a few crappy photos before I got a crappy photo of the sideview with the tail showing.

    Fox & Maus: it’s pretty entertaining. All my moves were stolen from Mike Myers on SNL‘s Wayne’s World.

    Doraz: some kids are cute, but others … are really cute!

    madtante: both kindergartens do a pretty good job of costumes and choreography … although if you go for 5 years, some songs keep popping up … and a few outfits look very exactly similar to previous costumes. I’ll have to ask who’s in charge of the wardrobe.

  6. Awwwwww… They are all so cute in their little costumes. Can I hire them for my next party?

  7. Tony: I liked these kids in their costumes … because it wasn’t Halloween and I didn’t have to give them candy.

Leave a Reply

