Roadside Amenities

 

Phone, bus stop, toilet … I’m set.

 

note: it’s an out of service area.

double note: why are beneficial elements called “amenities“? Do people say “amen” when they find them or something?

triple note: why are payphones called payphones? … are all other phones supposedly free? I must have the wrong plan.

.

Today #290

Today I sleepsat my way through work.
I must have been too sleepy to walk.

8 responses to “Roadside Amenities

  1. That’s a great reuse for a bus-stop! My cousins used an old outhouse by the roadside when they were in school (and NO it wasn’t over a ditch/ latrine…it was the outer-building which had no poo but it was a funny thing to see by the road if you didn’t know what it was really used for!).

  2. I know exactly where that is. I ride my bicycle by it often in Kawaba and always thought it worthy of a photograph.

  3. Are there even any pay phones anymore? I mean, active, not-abandoned ones? Any yes, there’s probably been a time or two when I’ve said AMEN upon finding a bathroom!

  4. That’s a phone?? How short do you have to be to use it?

  5. If that is a urinal I’d use it. But then I have an enlarged prostate gland, so I’d have a reasonable excuse. Nice view too. Fields and trees: It’d take my mind off all the passing drivers taking videos with thier smart phones.

  6. It’s a great little multipurpose amenity. Are you sure it’s not a Tardis???

  7. Depending on how bad i need an amenity I may say amen.

  8. Thanks for all the comments.

    madtante: I don’t think this bus-stop is being reused or abused as anything else. It’s just in disuse and abandoned.

    Kelly Pettit: you know exactly where I take most of my photos.
    … from the driver’s seat of my van. hee hee!

    Brown Road Chronicles: I was thinking the same thing when I wrote this. The only time I’ve used a payphone in the last 10 years has been at airports. Superman is kind of dated now. hee hee!

    bearman: it’s at the bottom of the little roadside embankment: from the field it would look normal sized, but then all the cars would look smaller. I think that’s how it works … I’m optical dillusional.

    Tooty Nolan: you would be a “passing” bystander … unless you were taking a crap. hee hee!

    Tony: maybe it’s a Tardis … you should probably ask a Tardist, just to make sure.

    omawarisan: you are singing to the choir with that statement.

Leave a Reply

