Hotdog Sunday

 

My mother made hotdogs for lunch every Sunday.

Every Sunday!

Bulk wieners* boiling in the pot, homemade relish, steamed buns, and mustard and ketchup.

I guess it was the reward for going to church … or later on … not going to church, but not joining a cult or another church or wearing a Satan t-shirt.

Changing back into normal clothes after church was to the question, “How many?”        “3” was my usual reply.
Responding with “4” was met with “You can’t eat four!

How could I sensibly argue with that?

No matter what I eat on Sunday for lunch now … I consider it a hotdog.

Always have and always will.

 

*bulk wieners: 2 weiners wrapped in plastic … looking like linked sausages.

note: one of my brothers refers to hotdogs as “sliders” … cause they slide in and out of you. But he’s a bit rude and humorous. … He’s ruderous I suppose.

double note: I wish I had a pair of wiener tongs … maybe I could deliver a kid or something.

.

Today #243

Today went off without a hitch, but I didn’t have a trailer … so it was fine.

7 responses to “Hotdog Sunday

  1. Sliders are what we call White Castles

  2. I have to admit, I still love a good hot dog, especially when cooked on a grill! And Bearman is correct, sliders are white castle burgers or any such small greasy hamburger on a little bun, typically with a few onions.

  3. I’m not that keen on boiled hotdogs, I prefer them grilled as they seem to have an entirely different yummier flavour. I love the word Weiner, it just sounds so…. insulting
    Here we call them frankfurters or saveloys

  4. Franks & Savs for short

  5. Or “for long” if you have a foot long hotdog. Or does that become a furlong which would be more than a foot long. One furlong is 660 feet. That’ a lotta hotdogs
    OK I’m rambling, moving onto the next post now…

  6. Thanks for all the comments!

    Bearman:
    I don’t know White Castles, but I’ll take your word for it.

    Brown Road Chronicles: I like hotdogs grilled, boiled, or fried; I just don’t like those packaged wieners. (10 or 12 crammed together looking kind of square and blockish and packaged and processed to death)
    Argentina has the cheapest hotdogs I ever ate: 25 cents a pop … with condiments aplenty!!! They tasted good and I didn’t die, so I give them 2 thumbs up!

    S. Le: sorry, I was getting all sentimental on this post: just trying not to be a one trick pony over here. It was just something I thought of … and I didn’t have anything to say about anything else. hee hee!

    Tony:frankfurters or saveloys” I know those words, but “frankfurter” makes me think about “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” with Dr. Frank-N-Furter in it … and saveloys make me think of … I was just bluffing you that I knew what that meant. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

