Resume

 

I’ll have to update my resume … if I ever resume jobhunting.

 

note: I have no idea why it says “RESUME” outside this garbage point/elevator area in a local carpark.

double note: it must be quite rare for a person to have had only one job in a lifetime … even Jesus was a carpenter before he hit the big time!

.

Today 237

Today was like watching a cloud: it looked interesting, kept changing bit by bit, and then when I looked away for a second … it was gone.

8 responses to “Resume

  1. Maybe it means “resume what you were doing”. Every day is like a cloud… a puff of wind and poof, it’s gone. Or, lose focus and shit, it’s a storm!

  2. My Dad was a carpenter too. But the only follower he had was our cat, Lucy.
    When his brother-in-law accidentally sawed off his thumb Dad was unable to perform a miracle, and instead took him to hospital where they re-attached it. He didn’t so much sit at the right hand of God – more to the back with the rest of the bass singers in the choir of Saint Peters and Saint Pauls church, whilst Mum sang soprano very loudly. They’ve both gone to join him now, of course – being both elderly and dead.

  3. Maybe it’s not RESUME, but rather like your NI post perhaps it should be spelt EMUSER – that place where seldom-used waste bins are stored. “Don’t lock the door, honey – I’m just popping down to the emuser.”

  4. Thanks for the comments.

    Donald Diddams: I thought they meant to print “REFUSE“, but the painter refused to do so.
    Everyday is like a cloud, if you are Bonnie Luria‘s dog Cloud.

    Tooty Nolan: I like the idea of sitting “more to the back with the rest of the bass singers in the choir of Saint Peters and Saint Pauls church“.
    I’d like to be seated close to an exit … so I could pop outside for a smoke. hee hee!
    Maybe the person meant resume walking towards the elevators … as in continue through these doors and go around the corner … or “this way“.

  5. re·sume (r-zm)
    v. re·sumed, re·sum·ing, re·sumes
    v.tr.
    1. To begin or take up again after interruption: resumed our dinner.
    2. To assume, take, or occupy again: The dog resumed its post by the door.
    3. To take on or take back again: resumed my original name.
    v.intr.
    To begin again or continue after interruption.
    One may only guess what the Japanese think it means. Resume making garbage?

  6. S. Le: I’ve shown the photo to Japanese people and they couldn’t figure out what the hell that means either!

  7. A job for life used to be a normal thing once. I grew up in a small copper mining town in Tasmania where it was standard practice to leave school, get a job at the mine & work there till retirement. Unemployment was a rare thing. These days a job for more than 10 years is probably a rarity. I’ve been in my current job for 5 years & am hoping to last till retirement in another 14 years.Drays that makes me feel old knowing that there’s only 14 years till I become an old age pensioner…

  8. Tony: it’s funny how people think 65 … or 20 years at a job … is the retirement age. I’m still waivering between now and sometime before 65.
    But that’s just me.
    It does make me feel a little old thinking it’s only 19 years before 65.
    I’m sure 65 year old people think the same thing about being old at 84 … or 19 year olds thinking about being a geezer at 38. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

