Non-Existentialism

 

Sometimes I think, “Why am I here?”

And then I think if I was never here, I could never say
You had to have been there.” to somebody.

because really … that’s the best thing to say
… when someone wasn’t there.

 

note: if other people were never here, I’d probably think about them … because they sure wouldn’t. People who were never here never think about themselves: … they are pretty selfless.
I don’t know anyone like that though … for some reason.

double note: I don’t want to go to the “hereafter“; but I’d happily go to the “everafter“.

triple note: I found the kernel of this idea hiding in my drafts from 8 months ago. I don’t know what I was thinking then … some things never change.

quadruple note: I’m officially over my limit for uploading photos on WordPress. I will have to pull out my credit card and get an upgrade for the next post.

.

Today 165

Today the kid that puked on my rug last week brought me a baumkuchen cake  as an apology offering.

7 responses to “Non-Existentialism

  1. I find myself thinking the same thing at times.. what if I was never born? I wonder how different life would be for other people with my nonexistence. I think it would suck, but then again I wouldn’t even know?

  2. That’s a heck of a lot of photos. Couldn’t you go back over the really ones and delete them? I delete whole sites on a regular basis. I’m trying for one whole year with Tangentially Tooty 2 before I succumb. What’s a few pictures?

  3. I missed – or rather WORDPRESS missed – the word OLD between Really and Ones. It a small thing, but small things can be very important.

  4. Thanks for the comments.

    dtmos: thanks for stopping by! When I start thinking like that, it does my head in. Someone else would definitely have my passport number though.

    Tooty Nolan: I used to use/steal images from the web, but I went back and deleted most of those ones about a year ago. Those posts look strange now without any photo above them. $20 for another year’s worth of uploading photos isn’t a big deal; especially when I factor in the free blog and 3 years worth of free photo uploading I’ve enjoyed.
    I can rationalize most things … even rashes sometimes. hee hee!

  5. I reckon the puking kid owed you more than a cake! Ewww!

    What is the photo upload limit?

  6. Perhaps you are here to renovate that old building, it could be your purpose. You could turn it into a Bus Shelter. Homeless Buses need more shelters to sleep in.
    I believe in the hereafter but now I can’t remember what I came hereafter.

  7. Thanks for the comments.

    S. Le: I used up my 3 GB free upload space. It’s $20 for 5 GB more for a year. After a year, it’s another $20. If you don’t pay, all the photos uploaded stay on the blog: you just can’t upload anymore. I think there are a few other things I get for the $20 … like embedding videos … but I don’t usually do that. You can pay for more than 5 GB of space, but if it’s taken me 3 years to use 3 GB than I don’t need that much.

    Tony: actually this is a little vegetable stand with an honour system payment box. I’m sure the owners will spiff it up a bit once they start harvesting this year’s veggies.

Leave a Reply

