Chopsticks

 

I bet people could eat faster if they used 3 chopsticks.

… and put some sort of handle on the end of them.

 

note: I’m never chopstick stuck … I have quite a few pairs.

double note: chopsticks aren’t really good for chopping things; … they should be called pick-up sticks … but I guess some game company has trademarked that name … or it might get confused with sticks on the ground … that someone wants picked up. 

.

Today #164

Today was like an evolving door.

9 responses to “Chopsticks

  1. Three is definitely a crowd when it comes to chopsticks. I have trouble keeping two under control. Maybe the handle thingy is the key. Of course, eating faster is not always better…

  2. I still haven’t mastered the sticks of chop. It’s on the to-do list.

  3. Great idea If you put a handle on the 3 chopsticks it would be a bit fork-like, you could call it a chork. Or a tri-chop. Why don’t they hollow them out for eating soup???
    http://addanaccity.com/wordpress/index.php/2011/04/05/culture-shock/

  4. One day we were eating in a Japanese restaurant and I was picking up like 2 grains of rice on each try. The waitress came over, handed me a fork, and said, ” It’s okay, even Japanese have trouble with them sometimes”

    I think she was just trying to make me feel better about my fail. lol.

  5. 3 chopsticks. Great idea. You could use two to eat with, and one to scratch behind your ear

  6. Thanks for all the comments!

    Donald Diddams: they have some training chopsticks over here: they are just chopstick looking tongs really.
    I agree about the “eating faster isn’t always better” … unless it’s something I don’t like to eat, but have to.

    Cynical Scribble: I’d done some practice in late night Chinese restaurants at home before I came here, but I’m pretty good with them now. Although there are a few types of them that still give me problems: ceramic round ones are a bit of a bitch.

    Tony:the chork” sounds good to me, but Aussies and Kiwis might mistake that word for chicken. hee hee!
    They use weird spoons over here for soup: kind of wide and short.
    Thanks for the cartoon link. hee hee!

    sweetiegirlz: it’s true! some Japanese aren’t very good with chopsticks … usually babies and people with no hands mostly. hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan: I used to think the throw away chopsticks came with a spare mini-chopstick (like those spare little tires in case you get a flat) … but it turns out that it’s really toothpick.

  7. Referring to your SG reply: Do they have special chopstick holding prosthetics for Japanese people with no hands. Just wondering out of concern for the picking things up challenged???

  8. I’ve been using them since I was a kid. Now my kids are using them. It’s funny how the various restaurants sometimes give the kids “training” chopsticks which are essentially large tweezers. You know, they wrap a rubber band around the base. It’s kind of cool.

    As you’re probably aware, there are certain things chopsticks are really good at, and certain things they’re not. Personally, I think they’re perfect for eating noodles. Better than a fork. But for eating rice, even when it’s sticky, I think you can still shovel down more with a fork. (But I use the chopsticks anyway, because I’ve usually already got them in hand).

    Realistically, why don’t we just have “food vacuums?” You put one end in your mouth and suck the food up with the other end. Humanity has been using forks and spoons and chopsticks for so long, we seem to have gotten stuck on them. It’s time to innovate!

  9. Thanks for the comments.

    Tony: I know young children and elderly people (who are physically unable to control their chopsticks anymore) use spoons and forks. I’m not sure about people with prosthetic limbs. I’d guess they are spoon and fork users.
    I don’t think the technology is up to the using of chopsticks yet, but I’m sure Japanese scientists are working hard on the problem.

    writerdood: where can I buy a food vacuum??? I want one of those!!! Me! Me! Me! Over here!!! (standing in a line outside the “Food Vacuum” store)

Leave a Reply

