Pessoptimists Must Stand In The Middle Of The Road

 

Is the glass half-full or half-empty?

I don’t know.

My bathtub is usually half-full.

I must be a big optimist.

 

 

note: baths are never fat, rotund, obese, or heavy-set; they are always tubby. hee hee!

double note: every time I walk by this bathtub, sitting out in a farmer’s field, I think of Donald Diddams‘ post here:

triple note: I’m tired of paying the reality check … I’ve been ignoring the unreality check … or should I still be doing that?

quadruple note: thanks for all the notes and well wishes about the tragedy in Japan. THANKS!

.

Today #153

Today was a beautiful sunny day … somewhere: it rained here though.

8 responses to “Pessoptimists Must Stand In The Middle Of The Road

  1. I prefer being a pessimist as you are never disappointed when things go wrong because you expected it anyway. When something goes right it’s an unexpected added bonus. The only direction things can go for an optimist is downwards because if things go well they expected it anyway. They are more open to disappointment.

  2. An engineer would not agree on the glass half full/half empty concept. He would say the glass was too big to begin with.

    The tub you have pictured is not as lovely as the one Donald D has. Shape up there dear Ross! Your tub is tubbier and less attractive than Donald’s!

  3. That looks like a great place to take a bath. Have you ever seen anyone using it? Do they charge to use it?

  4. Thanks for the mention Ross. I think this tub might be more comfortable than the one with the barbed wire — even if, as S Le notes, it is a bit small for larger framed individuals. You’d have to really cozy up to yourself to bathe in this one.

  5. I was travelling when the earthquake struck Japan, but when I got over the shock of the tsunami footage, I thought ‘Where does Ross live?” I was concerned, and greatly relieved when I finally was able to go on-line once more, and find you well and safe.

  6. glad to see u. I have an oval bath. It’s less tubby than usual.

  7. That is a tub?

    I still can’t picture it.

    I guess I am a pessimist.

    Happy 3rd blogoversary! *tag* 🙂

  8. Thanks for all the comments!

    Tony: I think optimists believe that when life closes a door it opens a window. … probably pessimists believe this too, but they jump out of their windows.

    S. Le: it’s a pretty sad tub, innit? hee hee!

    writerdood: I think the farmer uses it to do … something, but I haven’t seen it in action yet. The farmer could have put that tub anywhere on his land, but he chose to put it right at the front of his property: he must think it’s pretty good and wants to show it off to people. hee hee!

    Donald Diddams: baths in Japan are usually smaller and deeper than their North American brothers … and bubble bath isn’t very popular here.

    Tooty Nolan: thanks. I’m fine. Apart from big aftershocks rolling through here daily, things here are pretty normal.

    sweetiegirlz: my bath is a little tubbier than this one, but not by much.

    Tammy: thanks! I kind of missed my blogoversary this year. oh well!

Leave a Reply

