An Update

 

Just an update to say that the area in which I live is fine.

There have been a few big aftershocks over the last few days, but no damage: 4am in the morning seems to be a popular time for them.

Life is continuing fairly normal here: the garbage trucks pick up the garbage on garbage day, the stores are open and have stock, the schools and most businesses are still open.

This area isn’t in the rolling power outage affected area: probably because there are so many hydro-electric dams close by. I don’t know if that is actually the reason, but gas, water, and electricity are running normally.

People have been asked to use less electricity.

The company I work for decided to close up until Sunday. I think the availability of gasoline was a major factor. Who wants to waste their gasoline driving their kids to English and Cram school classes?

So, apart from visiting a local kindergarten this morning, I’m just chillin’ at home for the rest of this week.

I’m stressed about the nuclear reactors in Fukushima, but I’m more stressed about the people who are a lot closer to them than I am, than I am about radiation coming here.

It’s a bit surreal sitting at home, with the same comforts as I did last week, knowing that now thousands/millions of people to the north of here are suffering … and there isn’t much I can do; except stay calm, save electricity, stuff money into charity boxes, and hope for the best for them. … but it’s the best I can do.

It’s just like last week, but extremely different somehow.

 

note: I am in awe of the nuclear power plant staff who have been working around the clock over the last 4 days in Fukushima, the Japan Defense Forces who have been getting relief to the affected areas, the disaster teams from other countries, the Japan Government who seem to be doing the best they can, and the people of Japan for not freaking out.

.

Today # 150

Today I realized that I use a lot of things that I don’t really need to use as much.

9 responses to “An Update

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you…

  2. Thanks for the update, Ross. I think the whole world is stressed about the nuclear reactors, and I share your sense of awe at the efforts of the nuclear staff and engineers, and the relief and rescue workers. This will be a life-changing experience for all who have survived.

  3. Glad to hear you’re doing okay. The situation looks bad, and I get the impression from the news that company running the reactors isn’t revealing all of the truth. I wouldn’t be surprised at all if there were a major meltdown. Now might be a good time to visit Oki.

  4. Not much to say, except best of luck. On the bright side, regarding the reactors, there are news reports that the news reports are mostly flawed. Go figger.

  5. Here is a link on how to protect yourself from radiation.
    http://www.naturalnews.com/031708_iodine_radiation.html

  6. Thank you so much for the update. You are one of two teachers I know who live in Japan. The other one is also fine. It is humbling to see a great Nation like Japan brought to it’s knees. The nuclear danger is frightening. I’m hoping those brave souls working to control the meltdowns are successful. They are amazingly brave and selfless.

  7. Simon Nuttgens

    Hey Ross,

    Relieved to hear that you are okay, though sadden, of course, to hear of the tragic destruction that surrounds you.

    As you-know-who once said:

    “The only thing I knew how to do was to keep on keepin’ on…. “

  8. It’s just hard to fathom that this has actually happened. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must be like for those having to cope with what has happened to them. The grief of those who have lost family members & friends must be so overwhelmingly sad for them.

  9. Thanks for all the comments/messages.
    I thought I’d left a reply on this entry earlier, but I guess not.

    Things here are okay. Things elsewhere, I don’t know.
    I’ve driven through enough Japanese small coastal villages, towns, and cities to feel really really horrible about what has happened to the ones up on the east coast.

Leave a Reply

