Mountains

 

My calendar at work this year has pictures of Japanese mountains: one for each month. I recognize Mt. Fuji, the Japanese Alps, Mt. Tanigawa  , and the mountain surrounded marshlands of Oze .
(the last 2 are about 30 minutes away from where I live)

The other 8 mountains look scenic and impressive, but I have no idea where they are.

I’m kind of disappointed.

I was hoping Mt. Splash, Mt. Big Thunder, and Mt. Space were going to be on it.

 

 

note: I’ve Googled the mountains of West Virginia and there is no Mt. Mama! … John Denver is full of crap! … I kind of liked him in Gilligan’s Island though.

double note: if it wasn’t for Mt. Kilimanjaro, I’d think Africa was flat.

triple note: if it wasn’t for Heidi and “The Sound of Music“, I wouldn’t know anything about Switzerland at all … except for that Nazi gold, cheese, chocolate, cuckoo clocks, neutrality, army knives, and that Disneyland ride they invented.

quadruple note: the photo has nothing to do with mountains. I just thought those that saw the little red car before would like to be updated on what the owner has been acquiring.

.

Today #128

Today I said the word “dink” for the first time in about 20 years. It still sounds funny!

6 responses to “Mountains

  1. So Mt. Mama isn’t really there??? I thought John was a nice bloke who could be trusted to be truthful. I saw him once on Sesame Street & I thought a children’s program like that would only show truth & reality. Grrrr….

  2. So those cars have customizable back ends? That’s kind of cool. I’d like to get one of those. Do they sell back ends with swimming pools? Or how about a barbecue!

  3. I like Mount Poopikaka. It doesn’t exist – except in my books. But that doesn’t mean to say that I can’t like it. I always imagined that it looked like Mount Fuji, but smelt considerably worse. My wife once visited Mount Fuji: She said it smelt pretty ghastly. Rotten eggs, or something. Poopikaka doesn’t smell of eggs – rotten or otherwise.

  4. Thanks for the comments.

    Tony: if I remember correctly, John Denver was going to be the first civilian in space on Challenger, but through a twist of fate he didn’t get on that one.

    writerdood: oooo… sign me up for a BBQ one!!!
    If I had one of those, it would give me more room for bumperstickers! hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan: Do the Hill Tribes live on Mount Poopikaka? I think I saw that name pop up in your “The Psychic Historian” novel.

  5. Wrong part of the world I’m afraid. They lived in Deepest Jungle Land. Well spotted there.

Leave a Reply

