Piggy Banking

 

Why did the pig end up being the symbol for saving loose change?

The cash cow, a hording squirrel, or even a *fish would seem a more obvious choice as a symbol than the pig.

I don’t get banking.

 

*a fish from the Grand Banks.

note: pocket change doesn’t come easy … I still stick my wallet in the front left one and my car keys in the front right one.

double note: if there was no money in the world … cash registers would have a lot more slots in them … and possible be very big.

.

Today #12

Today was Boston‘s first album all day.

13 responses to “Piggy Banking

  1. The first one was tremendous.

  2. It’s physically impossible for a pig to look upwards. Imagine not being able to do that!

    My piggy bank is a an old Jack Daniel box. All my small change goes in it until I have enough to make into big change.

  3. That looks more like a hedgehog to me. Better hope Dennis doesn’t see it!

  4. I’d like a cash cow! Free cash and hamburgers!

  5. I like it. 🙂

  6. Hey Ross I got my Planetross book today!!!! Thanks a lot !!!!!

  7. Here’s why
    In Middle English, “pygg” referred to a type of clay used for making various household objects such as jars. People often saved money in kitchen pots and jars made of pygg, called “pygg jars”. By the 18th century, the spelling of “pygg” had changed and the term “pygg jar” had evolved to “pig bank.” [3]

    Once the meaning had transferred from the substance to the shape, piggy banks began to be made from other substances, including glass, plaster, and plastic.

    Info extracted from here http://www.answers.com/main/ntquery?s=Piggy%20Bank&gwp=16

  8. When I wrote the “Hey Ross I got my Planetross book today!!!! Thanks a lot !!!!!” comment I had just looked at the ackage but not opened it. Bonus surprise was Kelly’s CD too. Awesome. Thanks guys!!!

  9. I looked at the Package too as well as the ackage. I’ve already read half of it but I can’t find where I’m supposed to leave comments. Guess I’ll have to use a pencil.
    My wife Michelle had a browse through to & had a few good laughs as well

  10. Thanks for all the comments!

    Sorry for being sporadic. It’s the weather or work or apathy or lethargicness or the motivational speakers in my head are broken … or something like that.

    omawarisan: I don’t get your comment. I’m slow sometimes. … unless you’re talking about the flying pig from The Kids in the Hall!


    I have a book I’d like to send you. Let me know your address at hey_ross@ hotmail.com

    Cynical Scribble: I know some people who can’t look up … for some reason.
    My loose change goes into a Labatt’s ashtray, but after skimming all the big coins out of it … I dump the little stuff into a charity box at the local convenience stores.
    I have book for you, but I need your address. Let me know at hey_ross at hotmail.com

    S. Le: … and milk and eggs too!
    … maybe just milk.

    Doraz: I think it’s a mouse, but I was never good at Biology … or Buyology. hee hee!

    Tony: those Middle Englishpeople sure knew how to invent words! I was going to look up that word origin, but I thought I’d be lazy and wait for someone to do all the hardwork. Thanks.

    I’m glad the package arrived safely. (smiley face)

  11. Good blog. I wonder what the average life span of a piggy bank is until it is smashed?

    Pockets are really convenient until you buckle up in your car and you can’t get anything out in a hurry (like your phone or wallet).

    Tony, thanks for the ‘thanks’. Hope you enjoy my friend. Was recorded relatively close to you. In Melbourne Australia. It was a blast to make!

    Cheers,

    Kelly

  12. Kelly Pettit: I wonder if kangaroos who drive have baby seats … or they just keep the Joey in their pocket. There should be a law about that … or something.

  13. Thanks heaps Kelly. Melbourne??? you should’ve crossed the water for a coffee!!!!

    I think the law requires joey roos have to wear a in pouch harness to stop them falling out in the event of a sudden stop such as a Dingo attack threat or a red traffic light

Leave a Reply

