It’s True!

 

Kicking the bucket isn’t much fun.

 

note: Death rides a pail horse! … that’s kind of silly.

double note: I guess I’m beyond the pail now!

triple note:kicking the bucket” phrase origin is here. If you are short of time, it says: The wooden frame that was used to hang animals up by their feet for slaughter was called a bucket. Not unnaturally they were likely to struggle or to spasm after death and hence ‘kick the bucket’.

quadruple note: I’m off to the Matsumoto Craft Fair  again! I’ll be back Sunday night … my time.

.

Trivial Bets #3

At the end of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, you actually see Paul Newman and Robert Redford die. (false)

planetross 1 – trivial better 2

9 responses to “It’s True!

  1. Kicking buckets seems foolish, and why tempt fate?

    Have fun at the festival. I’m quite certain you always have fun doing whatever you do.

  2. I couldn’t help but notice your inexcusable unkindness to dandelions in this picture. Well I’ll tell you right here and now – I like yellow flowers, and I don’t like to see them abused.

  3. Oh, and another thing: I’ve ordered a copy of your book from Blurb. Do I get an award for my site?

  4. What great info about kicking the bucket… reminds me of watching the butchering as a child. That’s just how they did it. Happy thoughts huh?

  5. I can’t believe you managed to get this shot without falling on your butt.

  6. I’m afraid I’m with Tooty on this one Ross. I really am opposed to this kind of cruelty to yellow flowers. Although I do lower my standards when I have to mow the lawn, but I make it as swift & painless as humanely possible

  7. I’m pretty sure that Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid are off somewhere having drinks with Thelma and Louise.

  8. Thanks for all the comments!
    I should go away more often!

    S. Le: I had a good time wandering around pretending to be all arty and cultured … and heavy walletish too!
    – you forget about my ants! I’ll have to update those pages soon.

    note: go to Craft Fairs more often … many Cougars in the vicinity. hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan: thanks for buying my book. It’s readable, but I will be pushing the words closer to the center of the page over the next few days to make it as perfect as I can get it. I will send you a free copy of the new one if you would like … so you can give a copy to someone else.

    I will have to think about an awardish thingy.

    note: must slaughter my grass/dandelion farm tomorrow morning.

    Donald Diddam: I’ve never seen an animal butchered. I’d like to … just to see how I feel about it. I don’t think it would put me off of meat though … it would take more than that for that to happen.

    writerdood: I’m pretty good on one foot. I was going to do the self-timer route and have me really kick that bucket a ton (tonne), but I may need that bucket again for packing weeds and washing the van and stuff … so I just lightly nudged it over.

    Tony: dandelions in my yard live a fruitful and long life … until I get motivated and cut them down with my mower.

    Dennis the Vizsla: I can’t remember how Thelma and Louise ended … oh! … I didn’t watch the whole movie for some reason.

Leave a Reply

