2%

 

Scientists say humans and chimpanzees share 98% of the same genetic material. 

The last 2% must be really really good if those chimpanzees don’t want to share it with us. 

Stingy chimps!!

 

note: if I had 2% more genetic material does that mean I would be 2% smarter?
… or does that mean I’m probably not getting into Mensa any time soon.

double note: what the hell type of monkey is Curious George anyway?

triple note: I know those are monkeys in the photo. I think they were old world monkeys because I didn’t see the one on the end smoke with his tail.

quadruple note: when I have nothing to write about, I fall back on genetic material.

.

Trivial Bets #1

The word “nepotism” comes from Napoleon’s habit of giving family members important positions. (false)

planetross 0 – trivial better 1

11 responses to “2%

  1. I think that last 2% is what makes chimps able to swing through the trees and throw feces with 99% accuracy. Want.

  2. But isn’t that a right fascinating thing in the end… that a mere 2% of difference can make so MUCH difference?

  3. Sure, they want you to THINK they’re not evil.

  4. 2% huh? They are amazing animals. I love to watch their brains work. 🙂

  5. What kind of man wears yellow, day after day?

  6. Thanks for the comments.

    Dennis the Vizsla: I can’t throw my feces very accurately: I wouldn’t be a good sharpshitter. hee hee!

    braon: thanks for stopping by! It is amazingly amazing everytime I think about it.
    2% makes a great difference to my coffee too! hee hee!

    writerdood: Cornelius and Zira were pretty good though!

    Doraz: I think the 2% figure has been recalculated to 5%. Those scientists keep changing stuff for some reason.

    omawarisan: an organ grinder maybe???
    … and the Dalai Lama … now that I really think about it.

  7. They’re curious creatures all right but I’m not sure I’d insult monkeys by calling those guys monkeys.

  8. I read somewhere that geneticists have been introducing human DNA to tomatoes. Have they never read Day of the Triffids?

  9. The 2% probably wouldn’t be very beneficial to us anyway. I reckon it’d just make me grow a hairy back which I can do without

  10. Thanks for the comments.

    S. Le: if I remember correctly, they were dressed that way because they were doing a skit or something at someone’s wedding for some reason.

    Tooty Nolan: … or Attack of the Killer Tomatoes!!!

    Tony: hairy backgammon is a game I don’t play very well … thankfully. hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan: I ain’t rubbing any suntan lotion on your back! … or anywhere else for that matter. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

