Some Days #5

 

Some days I feel so excited I think I ‘ll turn in to one big goose bump.

 

note: some days I’m just a lump.

double note: the other Some Days are still here  and here and here and here.

triple note: the medical term for goose bumps is cutis anserina … but that sounds so clinical.

.

notes to myself #163

Your balls are really made up of your scotum and testicles … but you probably already know that, if you are older than 7 and have had Dad’s lecture. “Goolies” still sounds better though.

9 responses to “Some Days #5

  1. Looks like the Hippo has a wonderfully large home to enjoy life in! No wonder it’s fat!

    Why are goose bumps called chicken skin in Japan?
    What other non medical names are out there for cutis anserina?

  2. Anserine is Latin for goose-like, and cutis references flesh, so the medical term is a literal analogue of the common term “goose flesh.” I’ve also heard goose pimples. It would be interesting to know the non-English interpretations of the phenomenon, but I know that my favorite version will always be “formication.”

  3. Cut back on this guy’s rations! (The hippo, not you, Ross).

  4. Wow…. big guy there! lol 🙂

  5. They use the word ‘goolies’ in Canada? Hoorah – no wonder you understand my writing.

  6. I think I went to high school with someone named Cutis Anserina.

  7. Thanks for all the comments.

    Kelly Pettit: this is the hippo at Ueno Zoo: poor bastard. This photo is from 3 years ago … maybe he is facing in the other direction now.

    goose bumps translates into Portugeuse/Spanish as chicken skin too!

    pannonica:formication” sounds like a word my mother wouldn’t like, but couldn’t really get too mad over if I said it. hee hee!

    Donald Diddams: hippos are big at the zoo!

    Doraz: I never checked the undercarriage to see if it was a big guy or not. hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan:goulies” are big in Canada … about half the people have them! hee hee!

    omawarisan: I went to school with a guy called “Cleatus Joe” … “Joe” was his last name. There were a lot of kids with the last names “Jimmy, Johnny, and Jack” too! … I don’t think I knew a Billy Jack though.

  8. goulies in Australia is another term for phlegm wads
    Sentence example: I spat up a really big goulie the other day

  9. Tony: if you said that around me, I’d think you still had the other goulie in your stomach. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

