Bring And Take

 

I’ve been informed that many Canadians use “bring” and “take” as if they had the same meaning.

Sadly I’m in this camp.

… I guess I had a bad uptaking.

 

note: if you can’t read the name on the truck’s grill …  because your eyes are too far away from the monitor … or the picture is too far away from your eyes … it says “SUPER GREAT“.

double note: I’m sure I say all sorts of stupid things, but people just don’t tell me.

.

notes to myself #141

You don’t have anything to take with you yet … so don’t worry about that expression.

11 responses to “Bring And Take

  1. A 10 year old is one we should beware of, huh? lol 🙂

  2. I will bring sandwiches for my lunch to work
    I will take sandwiches for my lunch to work
    Hmmmm….
    If I say I will bring them then I am already there so I’m saying that I will bring them at another time. If I say take then I am not there yet & will take them when I go. Therefore, I must conclude that Canadians talk funny

  3. The entire bring and take thing would make me nuts. I’m always bellowing at television presenters and adverts for using incorrect English. People speak poorly enough without being encouraged.

    I think 6 years olds name vehicles. Ten year olds would use cooler names.

  4. You can bring me a cake but I don’t want you to take my cake

  5. It’s on the grille, which is like a grate, so it’s Super Grate. Or if the car’s a real old bomb then I guess it’s Super Crate

  6. I’m from Minnesota — the almost-Canada of the American midwest — and I don’t think using bring and take interchangably is any big deal at all. Bring it along, Take it along. what’s the difference? So what’s the sublimal marketing message in the “Super Great” truck? Am I missing it?

  7. My head is going to implode trying to work out why that is illogical, yet at the same time logical.

    I’m going for a lay down.

  8. Too far away to read the name on the truck? hehe. If that truck was any closer to you, the driver would be inside your van chatting it up with you.

    I suppose SUPER GREAT is one of the new Toyota ad campaigns. Pretty ingenious.

  9. This reminds me of the “to go” concept. In the U.S. we have restaurants where you can get your food “to go”, but other countries say “take away”. This is odd. I thought “take away” was in math.

    I’ve heard people name their children after cars, such as Elantra and Mercedes. I’m sure there are some Super Greats out there, too.

  10. I didn’t know Tony the Tiger made trucks.

  11. Thanks for all the comments.

    Doraz: definitely!

    Tony: that definition/explanation sounds good on paper, but it’s difficult to put into practice after years of misuse.

    S. Le: I’m just happy if I understand what the other person means most of the time.

    Razzbuffnik: I’d never do that. hee hee!

    Tony: hee hee!

    Donald Diddams: I think the person who said this included people from the U.S. as well … but I don’t know all of them, so I didn’t want to generalize. hee hee!
    I’m not sure if there is a subliminal message here … but I bet that truck is really good.

    Cynical Scribble: when I use bring and take … it usually means something is coming with me.

    sweetiegirlz: it’s a little strange that all car names in Japan are in English … I guess using Chinese characters would be too difficult to read at a distance.

    Tammy: I thought “to go” was an African country … so I always just eat my food at the restaurant.

    note: “I want to go to Togo”

    Dennis the Vizsla: I guess the breakfast cereal business wasn’t working out for him.

Leave a Reply

