Absentences … And Other Dangling Particulars

 

I guess I can tell you the real reason why I took some time off from blogging.

I needed time to deal with an addiction.

My name is planetross, and I am a gambler.

I was gambling all the time: at work, at home, in the supermarket, on the street, …

If I was awake, I was gambling.

It was getting out of hand.

I’m better now. I quit cold turkey.

Now I just walk.

 

oh!

Did I say gambling?

I meant gambolling.

 

note: at Gambolling Anonymous people don’t say “Kick the habit” … or do “12 Step” programs. They don’t skip anything either.

double note: How much does the fisherman bet?

triple note: quitting cold turkey is a stupid expression. How could anyone quit cold turkey? … it’s so delicious!

quadruple note: it’s okay for little kids to gambol … or gamble …or gumball … or something like that.

.

notes to myself #134

Gambling is not an addiction you have to worry about.

13 responses to “Absentences … And Other Dangling Particulars

  1. I prefer galumphing myself. Nice to see you again!

  2. I have missed you…
    So glad to see…
    That you are back to blogging…
    Did you miss me?
    LOL
    🙂
    🙂
    🙂

  3. Ross~ I have once again been forced to consult dictionary.com and now that I know what gambolling is….frankly, I’m concerned about you… :0) welcome back.

    PS. パッケージは郵便である

  4. Hey Ross, glad to have you back. I’ve missed you and your shenannigous ways. 🙂

  5. I’m so choked up with emotion from seeing that you’re back that I can’t comment.

  6. I’m glad you have your Gambolling under control now

  7. Aw, quit your lollygagging!

  8. You’re back!!! Now tell me, why wouldn’t Gamboller’s Anonymous use the 12-step program? Everybody else does. Might get addicted to it?

  9. Welcome home!

    Better watch those dangly bits then.

    Donald Diddams question needs sussing. Well?

  10. Hi. Glad you are back.

    Gambling….BAH! Is that the best you could come up with? A gambolling gambler?

    I thought your addiction was growing cacti or collecting penguins…or something like that.

  11. Gambolling in your dreams can be fun: You never get out of breath – and sometimes you can jump so high that you clear the telegraph lines. Dream-Gambling should quite nice too: If you lose, your bank account isn’t effected.

  12. Thanks for all the comments.
    I feel all warm and fuzzy … like a candy in the dryer’s lint catcher.

    I’m slowly working through the blogroll to see what you’ve been up to: it could take a few days.

    Dennis the Vizsla: it’s good to be back! … but it was nice taking a break too.

    Doraz: thanks. I’m more of an “out of my sight out of my mind person“. hee hee!
    … ok … just a little.

    sweetiegirl: I had to check the dictionary too; just to make sure gambolling wasn’t anything strange. hee hee!

    Buck Frain: I guess my entries are like toilet paper: they are usually the same most of the time, but people are glad to see them anyway … or something like that.

    omawarisan: you’ll get over it.
    Have fun at your big music festival.

    Tony: actually I didn’t do anything special during my self imposed break. It’s amazing how little I can do with more time.

    pannonica: if I’m not lollygagging, I’m usually meandering … or lollychoking.

    Donald Diddams: I think the motto in Gambolling Anonymous is “Don’t Skip Breakfast“. hee hee!

    S. Le: I think getting back into the blogging groove is going to be like going back to the gym.
    … I heard someone say that before … I wouldn’t know first hand. hee hee!

    Tammy: my new hobby is spotting monkeys while listening to “The Go Gos“. So far I haven’t seen any; a few were listening to “The Stray Cats” though. hee hee!

    tsanda: thanks!

    Tooty Nolan: are there telegraph lines in your dreams? In my dreams everything is buried.

    I can have a bank account in my dreams? … I’m going back to bed. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

