Every Friday Evening

 

Every Friday evening a 2 year old boy comes with his mother for a 30 minute English class.

Every Friday evening I blow up a balloon and put it somewhere in the room.

Every Friday evening when he comes in to the room we look for the balloon.

When he finds it I ask him what color it is and then we have the big conversation:

Here you are.
Thank you.”     … as we pass it back and forth.

After that we move on to more extreme stuff like:

– looking for animals in the jungle
– making imaginary cakes with imaginary ingredients 
– examining the contents of magical bags holding treasures like plastic fruit, 2 piece animal puzzles, or things that need to be classified as a certain color

In between these important activities we sings songs:

– about his health (How are you?)
– environmental issues (How’s the weather?)
– public transportation (The Wheels on the Bus),
– monkeys jumping on beds, spiders climbing drainpipes, ducks hiking, …

It’s a quick 30 minutes and I actually look forward to it for some weird reason.

I know his name, but I don’t think he knows mine.

I’m just the balloon man.

 

note: another little kid calls me “Wednesday” because that’s when he has a class.

double note: little kids really need to have a life.

triple note: most kids like me because I’m bigger and very different looking than their parents … like a dinosaur … or something. I can live with that.

quadruple note: most kids like me are probably the same age as me … or older or younger. I know where you live.

quintuple note: finding two meanings in everything is really annoying sometimes.

.

notes to myself #128

You end up where you belong … you don’t really fit in, but you still belong somehow.

7 responses to “Every Friday Evening

  1. That’s the cutest thing, Ross! I think I would look forward to it too, if it was my job. You know you have a special job. Years from now, these kids will remember who taught them English even if they don’t remember your name.

  2. Can I have your job? That sounds fantastic!

  3. I found this post oddly touching and moving. Stop it!! lol Very cool post dear Ross. V cool.

  4. You can’t touch a child’s life that way and be a “just”.

  5. Charming and creative, Ross! Or “Wednesday”, or “Friday night”. I might even have learned another language had someone taught me in that manner.

  6. Two year olds are great. It’s a very entertaining age and the children are so simplistic.

    I’m sure you are very different looking to a small child. A planetrossosaur.

  7. Thanks for all the comments.

    sweetiegirlz: thanks. I’m an entertainer … not a teacher … at heart.

    S. Le: thanks. I get all gushy sometimes and talk about what I actually do sometimes. … brains on a holiday sort of stuff. hee hee!

    Cynicle Scribble: no. … sorry. … but you could go to a lot of other places … check Dave Sperling’s Internet cafe … if you are looking. hee hee.

    omawarisan: I’ll accept not “just“. … I’m not just most of the time.

    Donald Diddams: thanks. I’m a lazy potato sometimes, but little kids need something.

    Tammy: definitely different looking. It’s amazing that most kids aren’t scared of me … I guess I am more more amazing that scary. It’s not so bad being amazing … hee hee!

Leave a Reply

