An Unbalancing Act

 

I don’t want a balanced meal when I eat fast food.

I want an unbalanced one that slides down that little burger chute quickly.

 

note: McDonald’s is selling sweet corn niblets in Japan.  … and it’s pretty expensive too!

double note: why do I always have to look up McDonald’s to see how to spell it?

triple note:

I love corn!
I just would never in a million years order a bowl of niblets in a restaurant.

Is it because it’s too ordinary?               No.
I’d order toast, an egg, a potato or even a glass of milk.

It’s probably because I know someone is just opening up a can in the kitchen and heating it a bit.

There’s just not enough work involved.

… and I know it only costs about 50 cents a can.

quadruple note: if they can make multi-vitamins in pill form, why can’t they just stick all those vitamins and minerals into the meat?

quintuple note: I’m starting to sound all Soylent Green in my best Charlton Hestone.

sextuple note: Charlton Heston was born John Charles Carter in No Man’s Land, Illinois.  I’m not making this up! … there really is a place called Illinois!

septuple note:fasting food” chains aren’t very popular … and don’t have any combo deals.

.

notes to myself #117

Once the “no dessert unless you eat all your vegetables” phase of your life passes … you really start eating unhealthy.

13 responses to “An Unbalancing Act


  1. How come you’re always such a fussy young man?
    Don’t want no Captain Crunch, don’t want no Raisin Bran
    Well, don’t you know that other kids are starving in Japan
    So eat it, just eat it (prrr)

    Don’t wanna argue, I don’t wanna debate
    Don’t want to hear about what kind of food you hate ooh
    You won’t get no dessert ’till you clean off your plate
    So eat it, don’t you tell me you’re full …

  2. And it doesn’t have far to slide to get to McWater… I’m with you. The only reason to eat fast food is to get that deep fat fried stuff that is too hard or too messy to make at home. But corn?

  3. Well, I guess we will just have to wait and see how this is going to work out! I would NEVER order corn at McDonald’s! Oh well, strange marketing there! 🙂

  4. I don’t see where corn fits into the holy trinity of fast food; salt, fat and sugar. There’s not fat in it. So that begs the question, are Maccas sticking some kind of trans-fat, like a butter flavoured margerine into it?

  5. The really horrifying thing is that here in Maine, McD’s actually started selling lobster.

    LOBSTER!!

    You have got to be kidding me! Personally, I don’t like lobster anyway, but I’d rather hammer my thumbs flat than order it at a fast food joint.

    -TP

  6. Another fast food post.. you and S.Le freak me out sometimes.
    Have you seen the movie “Super Size Me”? I’m
    never eating fast food again.

    Corn in the Happy Meal…it could always be worse, like serving fermented soybeans.

  7. Well I too love sweet corn but like most of us I wouldn’t order corn in McDonald’s !

    Your Snacks Personality- Which of these snacks do you prefer?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/snackspersonality/snackspersonality_instructions.asp

  8. Why would you want corn from Mcdonald’s any way? That’s like Taco Bell selling sushi. It just doesn’t belong.

  9. Thanks for all the comments.
    I sat on this one for a while because I had other nonsense that I couldn’t sit on … because they were uncomfortable maybe …

    Dennis the Vizsla: are you Weird Alling me? hee hee!

    Donald Diddams: If I could make a Big Mac at home … I would have to question my existence … and the spelling of existence just to be sure. hee hee!

    Doraz: I’ve seen all sorts of things being sold at McDonald’s in different countries, but here is a better list than I can come up with for local variations:
    http://www.tikifish.com/mcdonalds.html

    Razzbuffnik: corn may not be popular at McDonald’s … but corn syrup/oil is in a lot of stuff they sell: sauces, buns, french fries, …

    http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/nutritionexchange/nutrition_ingredients.html

    Turkish Prawn: Why would they sell lobster products in a lobster area? That’s like selling a special pasta burger in Italy, a champagne softdrink in France, or a turkey burger in Turkey!!! hee hee!

    Tammy: I read “Fast Food Nation” … but I’m a slow learner … or just have been programmed very well.
    As for S. Le. and myself … great minds think alike or fools seldom differ.
    I think she’s on to Arby’s now. I’d write about that place, but there aren’t any around here. (possibly a sad face) … there is a Bob’s Big Boy that I’ve never been to though!

    Tasneem R: I agree again!!!

    iamhillary: thanks for stopping by! salads at McDonald’s still freak me out … in a Sesame Street like way.
    One of these things is not like the other, one of these things is not the same …

  10. It’s people!!

  11. Ross,,,, thanks for the link. I enjoyed seeing the list! 🙂

  12. Wait… there really is a place called Illinois?

  13. Thanks for the comments.

    S. Le: who could ever get tired of saying that line? It’s like “I see dead people.

    Doraz: people should travel more … so they can check out what other McDonald’s are selling. (possibly very low on the list of reasons to travel though)

    nursemyra: yes! I couldn’t believe it either! hee hee!

Leave a Reply

