Mute

 

I didn’t talk to anyone today.

Not a single word was uttered to another human today.

I wasn’t a recluse or anything: I went out.

I didn’t wave, nod, or acknowledge someone I knew who was driving by. (I didn’t see anyone I knew)
I didn’t say “thank you”, “no bag please”, or “heated” at a convenience store. (I didn’t go into one)
I didn’t talk on the phone.

Besides talking to myself I think I only talked to the cat sitting on the sake barrel outside the front door. 
It seems to have taken up sunshine hours there since I moved the aloe vera inside for the winter.

Do I feel weird or bothered by this?

Not really.

It was quite a nice day … I just didn’t talk to anyone.

 

note: sometimes I can’t hear myself talking.

double note:                                                                yes, that is exactly what I said.

.

notes to myself #88

You talk too much. You listen too little sometimes.

7 responses to “Mute

  1. How introspective of you! I think we all talk too much at times, myself included.

    Does it count if one talks to ones self, out loud?

  2. Desperado, why dont you come to your senses?
    You been out ridin fences for so long now
    Oh, you’re a hard one
    I know that you got your reasons
    These things that are pleasin you
    Can hurt you somehow

    I don’t know why this song came to mind…..

    I think given the choice to talk You ‘druther. then you might just have the christmas blahhhhs. not everyone likes the season.

  3. P.S. It’s snowing on the cat.

  4. Well, it is fine to not say words. Did you use expressions? I always manage to get across…with or without words! LOL 🙂

  5. Q: Why was Santa’s little helper depressed?
    A: Because he had low elf esteem.

    Q: Why does Santa have 3 gardens?
    A: So he can ho-ho-ho.

    LOL
    🙂
    🙂
    🙂

  6. I worked totally and utterly by my self for ten years. No one else in the place. Just me. A whole day at work would often be wordless…. or so I thought. Eventually, I did get a job in a office and got to know the joy of coworkers. After a while, one of them commented, “You sure do talk to yourself a lot.”

    Guess I would have made a lousy monk.

    -TP

  7. Thanks for all the comments.

    S. Le: I hope it doesn’t count … because I do that quite a bit.

    sweetiegirlz: I don’t have the Christmas blahs … Christmas is a non-event here. I think I can mooch a turkey dinner off of my friend Mr. Badger though. I usually contribute a very delicious dessert: from the city’s premiere cake shop.
    I didn’t notice that I hadn’t talked to anyone until the evening … and by then it was a done deal.

    Doraz:
    Q. What is an ax murderer’s favourite Christmas song?
    A. Jingle Bells ……oh what fun it is to sing a slaying song tonight.

    Q. How many reindeer does Santa have?
    A. 10. ……..Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen, Rudolph, and Olive.

    “Olive the other reindeer used to laugh and call him names”

    The first one’s mine, the 2nd is from somewhere else.

    Turkish Prawn: you’ve said that before … I don’t know if you knew that or not. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

