Birthday Party, Cheesecake, Jelly Bean, Boom!

 

The “End of the World” people don’t like to hedge their bets, do they?

A “probably“, “maybe“, or “possibly” tucked into their prediction might make other people think they are still pretty okay normal people.

… “oh it didn’t happen. That’s okay, maybe next time you’ll be right. Wanna go get a few beers?

 

note: I’ll remain cynical until everything is phonetic … then I’ll be sinical.

note: this site  lists over 200 failed predictions about the End of the World. It’s mildly interesting. 
I try not to be too much of a Bible Thumper Basher, but this site’s main premise seems to be that Jesus’ 2nd coming will have something to do with the End of the World. … but no dates are given for that.
I hope he doesn’t come while I’m still alive because I’d probably be seriously bummed out, embarrassed and saying “no way!” a lot … along with 67% of the Earth’s inhabitants.

triple note: I’m not holding my breath unless there isn’t any oxygen around … or you bet me $5 that I can’t hold it for 2 minutes under water.

quadruple note: the title is a borrowed line from R.E.M‘s “It’s The End Of The World“.

quintuple note: if I have offended anyone, I haven’t meant to. It’s just a topic and I’m sure I’ll be saying something weird about holes in my socks or dandruff or chain letters or rolypolitics tomorrow.

.

notes to myself #84

Mom is pretty disappointed that all her children don’t share her belief about the hereafter … but she did a good job making us believe in love and an individual’s choice to believe what they want.

6 responses to “Birthday Party, Cheesecake, Jelly Bean, Boom!

  1. It would not be the same if you did not remain your cynical self! Love it! 🙂

  2. God Bless Moms that wise.

  3. You know what they say, there are no athiest in hell. Or is that a fox hole? Or something like that.

    Jesus’ 2nd coming is going to be cool, but I doubt I’ll blog about it. At least I am hoping I don’t…can’t…uh, won’t be around to do it. 😉

    “It’s the End of the World” is the most trite song ever written. No, that was “Happy Shiny People”.

  4. I love the concept of a whole bunch of us standing around mouths agape, saying “no way!” Makes me laugh. Now you can see how warped I am!

  5. I’m glad it’s just a light. I was so worried there for a minute and was wondering who you had connections with to get a photo of the end of the world.

  6. Thanks for the comments.

    Sorry for abandoning the blog for a few days more than usual.

    Doraz: I’m thinking of becoming less cynical and more dubious, misanthropic, contemptuous, mocking, suspicious, scornful, skeptical, derisive, ironic, wry, and doubtful. … just to change things up a bit.

    omawarisan: yes, she was pretty tolerant. None of us renounced anything or switched to a different team though: I’m sure if one of us became a Druid … she’d be looking in a dictionary and narrowing her eyes.

    note: planetross has nothing against Druids … I just made that word up … and then discovered other people made that word up a long time before me.

    Tammy: so foxes believe in the hereafter? hee hee!
    I wish video cameras were around 2000 years ago. Now that would be cool!!!!
    I caught your “atheists” typo this time. hee hee!

    Donald Diddams: I think I might say “No Way! It’s Yahweh!” … just to get a last little wordplay in before whatever happens next.

    S. Le: if the Earth was square would people use the expression “The End of the World“?

Leave a Reply

