It Happens Every Day

 

Every day ends the same way:

… with “day” written at the end of it.

 

note: why do people say the entire day’s name?

To is Mon; yester was Sun; tomorrow is Tues.

Maybe I’m just a simplificationist … or simple … or something.

double note: no one ever asks what night it is. I guess they’ve had all day to figure it out.

triple note: if you have a “hump year” … that’s kind of sad really.

quadruple note: why are “week days” and “days of the week” not the same thing?
… that rule usually works for everything else!

quintuple note:

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

Hey! I knew I was full of something!

… and that cookie tin would come in handy one day.

.

notes to myself #62

Filling in Social Studies’ test blanks with Fred Flintsone, when you don’t know the answer, will never come back to haunt you.

10 responses to “It Happens Every Day

  1. Calling Satur and Sun the “weekend” gives additional weight to calendars that start the week with Mon. If we called them the “weekends” (like bookends), the style of starting with Sun would make more sense.

    Do you like the actress Doris? What about the singer Anita O’?

  2. So all the gay people were born on a Sunday? This is really going to upset Pat Robertson.

    I need to find one of those website calendars for the year I was born to find out my sexual orientation.

  3. A ‘hump’ year, eh? Meaning a year of humping, I presume. That’d be 1981 in my case. Ah, memories…

  4. I’m glad I wasn’t born on the sabbath or I’d be gay. There’s one of those days every week so I guess that’s why there’s so many of them around now

  5. I suppose that is why we abbreviate them in our writing. In speach, now that would be weird… sounding.

  6. So are you tuesday or wednesday’s child? I’m wednesday, but I guess that’s really apparent. lol.

  7. Last night was Tuesnight… no, not tonight, tonight is Wedsnight. What? you’re confused? I Guess we’d better get back to analyzing “hump year”.

  8. Thanks for all the comments.

    pannonica:
    Daniel Lewis and that Joe Fri character are good.
    Wednes Adams is okay too.

    David: I had to look mine up to be sure … but I kind of thought I was a Tuesday arrival.

    Tooty Nolan: my hump year happened when Young Frankenstein came out. “What hump?

    Tony: I remember that rhyme being on a few cookie tins at home while I was growing up. Cookie tins can be very educational: it’s something to read while debating whether to put the lid back on the tin … or cram a few more cookies in the mouth and reload the pile in the hand.

    S. Le: in Japan people usually abbreviate them: ie. “I work Mon to Friday” or ” I get Satur and Sun off“.

    sweetiegirlz: I’m a Tuesday child. I had to look that up. I also found out that Vinnie Jones and myself are the exact same age.

    Donald Diddams: hump year” and “cold farts” still require analysis. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

