Pole Positioning

You may pass

 

It doesn’t bother me when people on motorcycles sneak up into the pole position at traffic lights: they usually accelerate quickly and are gone.

But …

I’d like to do the same to them just once.

I’m a rebellious thinker like that sometimes.

 

note: if I know there will be some cyclist, mopedalist, or pizza delivery scooter driver trying to muscle in on my pole position with visions of being a Hell’s Angels, I usually try to get as close to the curb as possible.

double note: Is that motorcycle move taught at driving school? … or is it just an unwritten rule of the road? … or something else?

triple note: I bet people with really fast cars get pissed off with motorcyclists for doing this. … I wouldn’t know … I’m just a better.

quadruple note: if a motorcyclist cut in front of me in a movie theatre line up, I probably wouldn’t say anything … because obvious they are a weirdo.

quintuple note:pole position” … because there is a pole somewhere … I thought there was a “poll” about the fastest being positioned at the front.

sextuple note: I’ve been in the “pole position” at the barbershop on many occasions!

.

notes to myself #51

You grow out of a lot of things, but you grow in to a lot of things at the same time … so it’s no big deal really.

8 responses to “Pole Positioning

  1. I am with you on that first comment! Sometimes those guys drive me crazy! 🙂 I grow out of my big jeans and grow into my “littler” ones!

  2. Do you think your van would be up to the task? I’d like to see that race; you against Hell’s Angels. Cool!

  3. If you forced your way up and smiled and nodded it would be ok. Smiling and nodding makes everything ok.

  4. yeah smile and nod, always keep a cool head behind the wheels

  5. Idon’t see a pole in front of them, maybe they are in pedestrian crossing position this time. You should’ve had the little red bomb/car & you coulda snuck in between them & made a fast getaway on the green light.

    I don’t know if I would take Omawarisan’s advice. Nodding could be taken as a gesture of aggression: “Hey you!!! Yeah you, the guy I’m nodding at, you wanna fight???”

  6. Thanks for all the comments.

    Doraz: anyone who can’t drive as fast me, I put them behind me quickly and move on. hee hee!

    S. Le: I think I have a 50-50 chance in a sprint (not the sprint car!) … but over some distance the van should prevail.

    omawarisan: smiling and nodding can get someone a long way in this life usually: just look at (add celebrity/politician/sports person’s name here). hee hee!

    pile-Driver: thanks for stopping by. My head is always cool behind the wheel … I just have a cool head most of the time: it’s cool! hee hee!

    Tony: that red car could have snuck between them! … I’m not sure about the fast getaway part though. hee hee!
    I find nodding is a good sign that I’m falling asleep in front of the tv. hee hee!

  7. I’ll nod at the next leather clad heavily tattooed Harley rider I see & blog the results, that is if he doesn’t break my fingers, that would make it hard to type

  8. Tony: maybe the Harley rider will be thinking the same thing: Harley riders probably blog too!

    I’ve seen your forearms in pictures: you are 1/3rd the way to being intimidating. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

