Parenthetical Marks

creases increasing

 

My face just keeps getting more linear every year.

 

note: everything I say is in parentheses now.

double note: I was going to use a smiley photo, but I saw that I had something stuck between my teeth.

triple note: laugh lines are better than punchlines.

quadruple note: I’m living in linear times I guess.

quintuple note: the lines look like parentheses because they come from your parents … or something like that.

.

notes to myself #47

You know how Mom used to push up and pull back her facial skin with her fingers and says she might get a facelift. 
You will do the same … and probably never will get one either.

8 responses to “Parenthetical Marks

  1. So obvious you photoshopped yourself. You’re really African American. haha.

    Also, I can tell you took the photo because every photo you take when I ask, is the same. Everyone’s head is cut off. heh heh

  2. You have a look that made me think to much about getting old. Next time, smile….even if you have stuff in between your teeth! 🙂

  3. Triple note and quintuple note- cracked me up. If you kept going, you’d surely be in the league of “hyper”thetical notes to self.

    I used to watch my mother do this in the mirror and now I do it too.
    Because it’s easier than a facelift, I could learn to walk on my hands.

  4. Laying back helps smooth out the lines of wisdom – but you’d have to suspend your computer from the ceiling, drink coffee through a straw, and probably use a catheter. On second thoughts maybe a face doesn’t sound so bad.

  5. You are a brave man to post this pic! I have feathery lines branching off from my eyes when I smile. You will NEVER see these. I photoshop ALL of the photos of myself.

    Please write a happier post next time. This one has me depressed. I abhor getting older!

  6. The image of you looks “Parenthetical”.

    As in you look like a parent that is about to do some of the “hard love” thing.

  7. They say it’s better to have laugh lines than frown lines.

    I have both.

    What does THAT mean?!?

  8. Thanks for all the comments.

    Kelly Pettit: at least I don’t cut everyone’s heads off before I take photos. hee hee! … um er … just keep moving on.

    Doraz: actually this photo isn’t that bad. I think I look more liney from other angles.

    Bonnie Luria: hee hee! I can walk on my hands, but my shoes leave a funny pattern on the back of my hands. hee hee!

    I think I’d rather have a Jean-Paul Belmondo beautiful trainwreck of a face than a store bought characterless face anyday! … but not today. hee hee!

    Tooty Nolan: I view my face as an experiment in “time lapse photography” … or maybe “time collapse photography”. hee hee!

    Tammy: I have the lines by the eyes too, but I only see them in the summer … because I don’t usually wear sunglasses.

    You are as young as you are ever going to be! Does that cheer you up? hee hee!

    When I look in the mirror I usually think … I need to get a new mirror usually. hee hee!

    razzbuffnik: I think this is my “trying to take a photo in a mirror without the camera being in the photo” photo.

    S. Le: after reading your comment I started thinking about stalagtites and stalagmites, being bipolar, and symmetry.
    … I’ll have to think about this more thoroughly … or not. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

