In And Out of Proportiousness

big beer small beer

 

I bet Gulliver didn’t spend much money on booze when he was amongst the giants in “Brobdingnag”.

Lilliput would have been a bitch if he was trying to save money.

 

note: if I start hanging out with talking horses and shunning Yahoos, then I better move on swiftly.

double note:

“Where I am not understood, it shall be concluded that something very useful and profound is couched underneath.”
                                                                        Jonathan Swift

I wish I had said that.

 

notes to myself #16

When you are 9 do not watch “The Birds“: it’s going to give you nightmares.
You can watch Alfred Hitchcock movies without side effects later on in life.

6 responses to “In And Out of Proportiousness

  1. I STILL creep out with that birds movie! Oh, do not sweat over what you did not say, sweat over what you think you might have said! 🙂

  2. Ross. Iwent to university with a girl who freaked out every time she saw a sparrow. Why? Because her parents had allowed her to watch the Birds at a formative age. She never got over it.

  3. Gulliver’s travels is such a great book and I’d recommend it to everyone.

    That first beer seems like a good deal but on second thoughts, I think it would go flat and warm before you finished it.

    As for the “Birds” I watched it as an adult and was amazed at how adult and stylish it was. Good movie.

  4. awww man, those movies were so scary back then and now look. the “effects” are laughable nowdays. I like the colorized version. how much do you think a big beer like that would cost anyway? couple hundred U.S. $

  5. Thanks for all the comments.

    Doraz: I should watch “The Birds” again and see what happens.
    I think I might have said a lot of things, but hopefully nobody picked up on them.

    epicurienne: I remember a kid throwing up while watching “Bambi” … I can still smell that movie theatre if I think really hard about it. … I don’t usually think about that for some reason though.

    razzbuffnik:Gulliver’s Travels” is a great book: I agree.

    I think a person would need a big beer coolie/stubby holder for the beer on the left. hee hee!

    sweetiegirlz: a big beer like that would be priceless! hee hee!
    When I watched “The Birds” I wasn’t scared, but it just gave me nightmares for some reason.
    There is a movie called “The Sentinel” that creeped me out a few years later.
    The cast list is pretty amazing, but I only remember Burgess Meredith.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sentinel_(1977_film)

  6. That is a tiny beer. You could have a pint and a shot of tiny beer.

    Hitchcock films, which I love, have never given me nightmares or horses of any sort.

    S. Le: Mr. Pettit and I got those at a festival in September: they were free, so that made it a bit better.

    nightmares/horses … hee hee!

Leave a Reply

