Insects

that grasshopper snatched the pebble ... and my hand! ... from my hand.

 

Are there any endangered insects?

Do you really care?

If it didn’t affect the food chain or cause some other environmental catastrophe, would you really miss insects?

People are always spraying, trapping, squishing, and zapping insects … if they aren’t screaming, waving arms, and slapping at them.

It’s like they don’t really like them all that much.

My heart flutters a bit thinking about a butterfly free world and my eyes dim a little imagining no fireflies, but I’d get over it and move on probably …  smelling  of something other than DEET .

Humans are pretty good at wiping out the big things on this planet, but we just don’t pay enough attention to the little things … luckily.

 

note: there don’t seem to be too many proud insectitarians out there.

double note: In Japan some people eat inago (grasshopper): they are quite tasty actually (seriously).
Cook them in a pot with soy sauce and sugar. It’s a nice side dish to spice up your rice! Yum!
Check them out here  … along with a bunch of other stuff some people supposedly eat over here. (not for the weak stomach crowd … you’ve been warned)

 

http://humor-blogs.com/

12 responses to “Insects

  1. I would never eat an insect, so I hope they never eat me! 🙂

  2. Where I live, the insects (mostly cockroaches, affectionately known as “mahogany bugs”) always win, Terminex or not.
    Just think of the biomass!

  3. Funny that you posted this. I think my son is an insectitarian. He won’t even kill an ant that comes inside. We have to insist that he just pick it up, smash it, and put it in the trash can.

    I can’t click on your “here” link. That’s disgusting!

  4. After reading your link, the main thing i see that these “dishes” have in common is sugar and soy sauce. People will eat most anything with sugar on it!

    I draw the line at bugs! Protein is overrated anyway. lol.

  5. Oh. INSECTS. I thought you were talking about inbreeding. Nevermind.

    I like beetles, though. Rolling stones are better, and most of them are still alive. Sort of.

  6. “They” say the average person eats 8 spiders in their lifetime. We also eat a pound of dirt (found on veggies etc) a year, and fecal materials plus much more. I don’t eat insects on purpose but I eat more than the average person as they fly into my mouth while I’m cycling. That’s my contribution to keep the critters under population control.
    I wish mosquitoes were extinct. They’re the worst!

  7. Thanks for all the comments.

    Doraz: if I was a monkey, I think I’d enjoy sitting on the ground and poking a little stick into a termite mound, pulling it out, and eating all those yummy termites.
    Those monkeys make it look kind of good.

    Donald Diddams: mosquitoes are my nemesis. I haven’t found too many cockroaches cohabitating with me: I’ve been lucky. I once found a turtle under my bed in Indonesia, assorted frogs in the toilet in Australia, geckos in Thailand, and a Komodo dragon outside my window … but I was on Komodo Island so that wasn’t so unexpected.

    Tammy: I was thinking an insectitarian would be someone who only eats insects. hee hee!

    sweetiegirlz: soy sauce and sugar find their way into many things over here. It’s the ketchup of the East! hee hee!

    Bunk Strutts: praying mantis must be insects … religious sects! hee hee!

    Kelly Pettit: spiders, dirt, and fecal material! you’ve just listed the main ingredients of a hotdog wiener! hee hee!

  8. Oh, I was thinking insectitarian as in humanitarian. I re-read your note, and now I get it.

  9. 2 Week's Notice

    What?! No love for the praying manti?

    Booooo

  10. I’ve eaten small fried grasshoppers in Korea where they we served as free bar snacks. At least that’s what I was told, you know what a sense of humour those Koreans have.

  11. Thanks for the comments.

    Tammy: I never thought of it being like a “humanitarian”. ha ha!
    Who would be a great “insectitarian“?
    Aunt Bee from the Andy Griffith show? hee hee!

    2 Week’s Notice: oh the praying manti are pretty terrific or maybe … “predatorific“. hee hee!

    razzbuffnik: I’d eat anything as a free bar snack!

    I’ve eaten the grasshoppers over here and they were better than I expected.
    A student told me the process from catching to cooking the grasshoppers. She said, with a sad look on her face, that she hasn’t had time to go out and catch any grasshoppers for a few years now.

  12. I’ll try anything once, except for rat, dog or cat. Or maybe scorpion. Compared to the above, grasshoppers sound a bit like a prawn of the land. s for missing insects, well we’re having a bad year for moths in our area. I’m killing about 4 or 5 a day. After all it’s a credit crunch so I’m not going to let anything live if it’s going to eat through clothes and upholstery just because it can. Last time I checked you couldn’t sue a moth for damages. Shame…

Leave a Reply

