Dates Give Me Diarrhea

somewhere in Argentina 2006

 

Why is January 1st New Year’s Day?

It’s not the summer or winter solstice.

It’s not the vernal or autumnal equinox.

It’s not a big religiously important day … as far as I know.

It’s a regular day with no special significance.

Do you know why it was picked as the start of the New Year?

It’s because some Pope just decided it.

… I bet it was the bastard’s birthday!

Does New Year’s Day really have to start on the first of any month?

What’s the difference?

 

note: I’d pick the first day of spring like it was in the Middle Ages … or my birthday.

double note: The Chinese New Year makes a lot more sense to me now … except for that dragon stuff.

triple note: people could have 2 New Year’s Days: one for the Northern Hemisphere and one for the Southern Hemisphere. Who cares really? … extra days off of work too!

quadruple note: If you think I’m picking on the Catholic Church, I’ll pick on Science instead: one word  … “Pluto“.

quintuple note: It’s amazing what people accept as “the way it is” because that’s just “the way it has been” for a while.

sextuple note: People living way way up North would probably vote against the summer solstice as New Year’s Day because … they wouldn’t be able to see their fireworks.

septuple note: 

… and don’t get me started on what the first day of the week is!!!

 

octuple note: from ask jeeves or ask … as it likes to be known now.

Among the ancient peoples, New Year’s Day was traditionally celebrated in conjunction with the vernal or autumnal equinox or the summer or winter solstice. In the Middle Ages it was set at the vernal equinox in the northern hemisphere, usually on March 25.

The Gregorian calendar, which is widely in use throughout the western world today, was initially decreed by Pope Gregory XIII in 1582. January 1 was declared as the first day of the new year on 1 January 1622.

 

http://humor-blogs.com/

12 responses to “Dates Give Me Diarrhea

  1. Good points. I would choose the day where daylight starts getting longer as the first day of the year. It just represents brighter days to come and positive mind set, ‘for me’.

  2. I believe every day should be a new year’s day! That way we can get rid of the stuff we did not like the previous day and move on with life! LOL 🙂

    • But if every day were New Year’s Day wouldn’t there be a lot of sodding people with raging hangovers? The world would be a grouchy place.

  3. My, we’ve done a lot of research on this… I really would like to hear the planetross version of the first day of the week.

    Here in St. Croix, January 1 may be New Years Day, but more importantly it is only 7 days after Christmas and still 5 days away from the climax of the celebration on 3-kings day (January 6). Then, finally, everyone goes back to work…

  4. I thought you were going to either say the fruit or a date with someone gave you diarhhea. Going out on a date and having diarhhea would be embarrassing.

    I have a conflict of interest because my son’s birthday is January 1.

    I’d like to know more of your thoughts on Pluto.

  5. Goodness me did a Catholic Priest do something bad to you on last New Years Eve??? You seem really upset about this.

  6. I think the 24th of September should be New Years Day, ne specific reason

  7. I like how people just make up days for some special occasion. I am going to make a day dedicated to not making any new days.

  8. “Dates Give Me Diarrhoea”

    Is that why you are single?

    The old Roman festival “Saturnalia” was on the 17th of December until the 23rd. Saturnalia was held during the winter solstice. Perhaps the idea for a new year stems from that time because once the Saturnalia was over the days would start getting longer and so a new year would seem to begin.

    Of course the early Christians had to superimpose their ideas on top of Saturnalia so they could claim the time for themselves.

    “Jesus is the reason for the season”? I don’t think so, I’d say originally the reason was Saturn.

  9. Thanks for all the comments.

    Kelly Pettit: I think you would make a good Roman and possibly want to play at the “Saturnalia” festival razzbuffnik mentions in his comment.

    Doraz: that would be a lot of Bowl Games on tv! hee hee!

    S. Le: you have a good point. I may invest in Tylenol.

    Donald Diddams: not very much research at all … just “ask jeeves“. It doesn’t really answer the question as to why January 1st was chosen at all … just who chose it.
    I think razzbuffnik‘s comment is far more enlightening.

    I don’t know what day is the first day of the week … but Sunday is definitely the last one for me. hee hee!

    Tammy: was your son the New Year’s baby in your area? lots of presents? My birthday is on the 5th and I didn’t get anything … except life.

    I just put that Pluto reference in as a red herring … I got nothing … I just didn’t want people thinking I was bagging on the Catholic Church. If it was another group or person who’d chose the day, I would have called them or him or her a bastard instead.

    Tony: no specific reason! hee hee! I smell self-interest. hee hee!

    Eric Richardville: I wouldn’t make up any special day … maybe just a morning for dunking gingersnaps in milk.

    razzbuffnik: possibly … hee hee!

    Thanks for the history lesson. (deep bow)

  10. My son was the 8th baby born…we got nothing…a goodie bag from the hospital, but everyone got one of those.

    I was just asking about Pluto because it is a touchy subject in my home…since it was “demoted” and all.

  11. Conspiracy! January 1st is the anniversary of Muhammad capturing Mecca in 630. Gregory XIII was a closet Muslim! I say this gets spread. :p

Leave a Reply

