Time Flies At A Standstill

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

 

Why does time seem to move so slow as a kid but move so quickly as an adult?

Maybe it’s like going to a new place for the first time: it feels like forever to get there, but the return trip goes by a lot faster.

For kids most things are new experiences and exciting.

“Are we there yet?”

For adults many things are the same and routine.

“Just a little further.”

 

I guess Time is similar to a rollercoaster ride: it starts slow, but once you start going over the hill it speeds up considerably.

… then it’s all white knuckles and screaming.

 

note: some people white knuckle it and scream through the slow part too.

double note: screaming in the line-up is premature.

triple note: if you believe in reincarnation, then you’re just going to go back and stand in line again.

 

http://humor-blogs.com/

6 responses to “Time Flies At A Standstill

  1. I’m getting to the white knuckles and screaming bit. Thanks for making me feel all the older. *depressed now*

  2. Groucho Marx: “Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.” (That’s a zeugma.)

  3. I like the rollercoaster ride analogy. When you go up that hill, you are scared to death, at least I am. I’m asking myself, “Why on earth did I get on this thing?”
    Going down is only worse because I just want it to be over!

    Then I get off the ride and I loved it and I’m ready to do it again. Weird.

  4. Thanks for the comments.

    S. Le: you’re welcome. hee hee!

    pannonica: I like that one.

    Tammy: if we carry the rollercoaster ride analogy a bit further … I guess the photo they take near the end of the ride at a lot of theme parks could be an obituary photo. hee hee!

    note to self: make sure to use the Splash Mountain photo in the obituary.

  5. And to take the analogy even a bit further, they make videos of people while they are on the ride. How humiliating to have that shown at your funeral! I saw the video of me on a rollercoaster last summer. It was horrible!

  6. It seemed to take so long to grow up & finish school when I was a kid & looking back now I think where have all those years gone. My eldest son turns 27 this year, my daughter is now 24 & my youngest son is 21 next month. Gosh that makes me feel old

Leave a Reply

