Bah Humbug!

I’m glad Scrooge’s catchphrase is “Bah Humbug!” and not  … 
Hab Bumhug!” because that would sound funny.

note: I used to think it was the ghost of Bob Marley in the story until I became intelligent or something.

double note: Really! How many versions of  “A Christmas Carol” do we need? After Alastair Sim, there is nothing.

“Put a fork in it; it’s done!”

 

http://humor-blogs.com/

10 responses to “Bah Humbug!

  1. Do you see…this toothpick? You’re not looking at it. Alastair Sim is the best. I do think the Muppet’s version is a close second. heehee!
    My favorite Dickens’ story is Great Expectations.

  2. “Hab Bumhug!” reminds me of when I was a kid playing Monopoly (the UK version) with my grandparents and somebody landed on “Trafalgar”.

    We thought it was hilarious to scream out “Rag-la-fart!”

  3. I am gratified to know that others agree… There is no Scrooge but the grumbly Alistar…

    I still get a thrill when Marley’s ghost roars – and a butterfly tummy when “Scrooge” frolics about his bedroom on Christmas morning; filled with the spirits of the night before – and – the season of joy…

  4. My family used to say “Merry fuckin’ Christmas!”

    So, I think that Hab Bumhug sounds pretty good to me.

    I hope you have a good holiday, Ross!

  5. I think a version with the ghost of Bob Marley would be awesome! “I and I wear the chains I forged in life, Scrooge! No woman no cry!”

  6. I’ve always wondered, what if his catch phrase was, “I’ve always wanted to make love to a school boy” would the movie have been as endearing to us as it is now?

  7. Aren’t The ghost friends of the ghost of Bob Marley called the wailers???

  8. I have to disagree with your statement about becoming intelligent.

  9. Thanks for all the comments! It’s a full stocking of commentation here!

    Tammy: Alastair Sim is truly the best! I kind of liked Bill Murray in “Scrooged”. My favourite Charles Dickens book: all of them! I think The PickWick Papers is the heaviest.

    razzbuffnik: hee hee! I like telling players they have BO when they buy that railroad.

    Patrice: thanks for stopping by! I don’t think too many people argue with me over what the best version of “A Christmas Carol” is … especially when I’m carrying a big stick!

    Pomeroy: I was partial to the WWF’s/WWE’s catch phrase “Season’s Beatings” myself. I hope you had a “Merry Fuckin’ Christmas”.

    Turkish Prawn: thanks for the link! I hope you had a nice lobster stuffed turkey or turkey stuffed lobster or whatever is traditional on the Maine land island you live on!

    Dennis the Vizla: thanks for stopping by! A Bob Marley version is really needed. I don’t know how it has been overlooked up until now!

    Ervin Sholpnick: I … I … I … I hope you had a Merry Christmas! ahh! the question!: no I don’t think it would be so endearing.

    Tony: hee hee!

    S. Le: I was waiting for someone to catch me on that one! hee hee!

Leave a Reply

