Trigger Phrase #1

 

 

 

Do you know a phrase that when you hear it, it causes you to roll your eyeballs?

One of mine is: “I think I know the reason; and I’m sure you know the reason.

This is usually uttered after foolishly asking a semi-rhetorical question about some navel gazing personal topic late at night; about the same time Ab Masters, Psychic Hotlines, and Religious Groups on TV infomercials are preying on the vulnerable navel gazing insomniacs who are in a weakened state of mind.

It’s always spoken by a pseudo wanna-be head shrinking friend who thinks it’s very profound.

Hello! If you have an answer to or an opinion on the question; spit it out, be blunt, direct, and to the point. Your reasoning is unreasonable.

You are giving me bubble shadows to mentally chew on.

When I hear this response, I know I must be mentally fragile, should shut my mouth, and shouldn’t watch TV for any reason.

note:Y” is down at the end of the alphabet for a reason. 

double note: hearing this phrase while lying on a couch makes it 10 times worse.

triple note: Trigger Words #1 and #2 are still clicking on dry cylinders.

quadruple note: following the Yellow Brick Road is “pathillogical“.

http://humor-blogs.com/

6 responses to “Trigger Phrase #1

  1. Where did that come from? Kelly Pettit, have you been pseudo-head shrinking planetross?

    note: it’s really difficult to be subtle, direct and to the point at the same time especially with a mouthful of Peanut Butter Cups.

    nathaliewithanh: this isn’t from Mr. Pettit. It’s just something that I hear from time to time.
    Peanut Butter Cups are good!

  2. One of my eye rollers is, “I know that!” usually said by somebody who didn’t.

    S.Le: I didn’t know that!

  3. Someone comes in the office and said to my co-worker: I have a question.

    she says : I have an answer, let’s see if they match.

    I am sitting behind her desk rolling my eyes!

    Sweetiegirlz is the queen of tactful directness, or direct tactfulness.

    sweetiegirlz: ha ha! That is pretty funny. I always preface questions with “I have a question.” I haven’t heard that snappy comeback yet though.

  4. “Pals around with terrorists”

    prometheuscomic: hee hee. Do they go bowling together or something? I don’t think I’ve palled around with anyone since I was 8; and then I started to chum around with … pals.
    I wonder if a person can penpal around with terrorists.

  5. >>>spit it out, be subtle, direct, and to the point.

    Is it just me or does subtle not really fit the point of this argument? Subtle and direct seem to be diametrically opposed.

    David: Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you like this one. “subtle” is one of the words I always mix up for some reason: I meant “blunt”.

    note: I’ll correct that. Thanks for the heads up.

  6. Oh, Oh, I really like the post despite my “subtle” remarks.

Leave a Reply

