Trigger Words #2

 

 

Do you know any words that when you hear them, they cause you to roll your eyeballs?

One of mine is: partner … as in “my partner“.

“Significant other” and “companion” affect me similarly.

It’s just too vague and secretive to be treated seriously.

If I have to nod my head politely at “partner”, than others need to accept “I went somewhere and did something” as an informative statement.

“partner” screams “it’s none of your business”!

Not mentioning the person at all would be better.

Maybe an alternative term could be “my human being“.

It’s also extremely vague, but at least I wouldn’t mistakenly confuse the person for a police officer, a doubles’ tennis player, a pairs’ figure skater, or  a ballroom dancer.

note: Do cowboys say, “My partner partner, partner”?

double note: if you haven’t read Trigger Words #1, it’s still here.

triple note: I bet Roy Rogers‘ “trigger word” was … Trigger!

http://humor-blogs.com/

8 responses to “Trigger Words #2

  1. Roy Rogers was known to be Trigger happy.

    I, too, hate euphemistic labels.
    Significant other is my all time nerve grater.
    Would then your ex be your ” insignificant other”?

    bonnieluria: I like that one!

  2. For some reason, I’m now thinking of Catherine the Great.

    Actually, I think “insignificant other” is great! “Inconvenience Store,” anyone?

    “Partner” makes me think of “business partner,” legal firms, et al.

    The Batman and Robin movie was the best ever what?

    pannonica: The best ever “movie” of course! (in a non-best-ever-movie sort of way, but still pretty fun)

  3. My father had a funny moment some time ago. He was being introduced to someone and he referred to his “partner”, Mike. He did this a couple of times and the other party finally asked some odd sounding questions that made my Dad stop and think.

    “BUSINESS partner! He’s my business partner!”

    As for Roy Rogers, I’m betting his trigger word was “Bullet”

    -Turkish Prawn

    Turkish Prawn: hee hee! When I was in Australia an English guy asked if he could “bum a fag”. I told him I thought it was okay to do that in Australia if both parties were of age and consented … and I gave him a cigarette.

    note: I’m not sure if that was politically correct, but those English make fun of North-American “Fanny Bags” too!

  4. How about “spouse,” or does that sound too much like a condiment?

  5. Cowboys in Brokeback Mountain, when they spoke and it wasn’t often, said, “I can’t quit ya”.

    w1kkp: Hey! don’t be leaving all that dirty talk in your comments!

  6. You must be referring to me and my “special someone!” lol

    To the Bat-cave! Brilliant film! I have it on DVD

  7. My parents had close friends when I was a kid who each introduced the other half of their couple to people as “my lover”. Since she was 50 and he was 26 when they met, I thought it was the awesomest thing ever because it freaked everyone out.

    Now they’ve been married for 20 years and they still make introductions in the same way. How cool is that?

  8. I do not like the term”better half.” So contrived!

    I myself prefer a sleeping partner, sometimes dormant, but always special and secret.

Leave a Reply

