Smallpox Vaccination

 

I don’t think about my vaccination scar on my upper left arm very often.

I remember when I got it though.

The nurse drew a bunny rabbit face on my arm.   

That was fine.

Then she said we had to feed the rabbit.              

I guess that was okay.

Then she jabbed me with that big needle!

If I knew that was coming, I would have let the rabbit starve to death.

 note: maybe that’s why I don’t have tattoos.

http://humor-blogs.com/

13 responses to “Smallpox Vaccination

  1. I’ve never found a reason to go and pay for a tattoo. I get them all the time, just by being active.

    There’s a big one on my left elbow (Mt. Biking mishap), another on my right knee (Coral will cut you up really well if a wave throws you on it) and another that wraps around a wrist (Mad cats should not me captured with out heavy gloves.

    Every week or so, I add another… and they are totally free! (excepting the doctor’s visits, naturally)

    Turkish Prawn
    http://foxandmaus.wordpress.com/

  2. You remember yours? I don’t even remember that! My kids ask me, “mom, what is that thing on your arm” I say, “you don’t wanna know!”
    Are you that way for allll needles? I hope you don’t get sick easy. lol.

  3. sweetiegirlz: “I remember everything, as if it only happened yesterday” to quote Tom Waits.
    I do remember my mother saying we were going for ice cream, but we had to stop somewhere first. “Margaret Moss Clinic”: the pink building in town.
    No ice cream there 😦

    Turkish Prawn: search my site for scars 🙂
    I have a few free tattoos too 🙂
    note: sounds like a Tom Petty line 🙂

  4. Where or where did you take or get this picture!! The perfect image for your post!

  5. Feeding the bunny? That’s certainly creative…

  6. Play Doh Rabbits in New York City. The rabbits were made by “fallon” for a Sony Bravia commercial in 2007. Watch the Commercial on youtube, it is awesome 🙂

    http://jp.youtube.com/watch?v=CLUAbkRUvVQ

  7. I got my small pox vacination back in 1974. The technique back then was to jab the arm very quickly with a needle about 30 or 40 times and then smear the vaccine into the perforated skin.

    The next day I felt very ill, had a temperature; a very sore and swollen arm plus a killer headache. If the vaccine was so bad, I sure as hell didn’t want to get small pox!

    Strangely enough, I’ve never felt the urge to get a tattoo…..

    not that hard to understand really.

  8. You are funny… in a sick twisted way. A poet too. Even the choice of photograph is perfect. If you had more childhood memories of the same kind, you could write a very dark children book for adults. I’d buy it!

  9. Thanks for the compliment 🙂

    Maybe an adult book for children 🙂

  10. When I was young 4 or 5 years I remember going to the local health clinic for shots. All I remember is that I was given a sugar cube and here comes this nurse with the white dress and white hat. That was the biggest needle. I want to say it look like a bike air pump may not have been as large, but it was shape like that with needles at the end. The nurse pump that thing in my arm and it felt as if it went to the bone.

    I’ll never forget that I still have a small scar about the size of a pencil eraser with holes in it. It’s fading away. Now, that I am older you can barley see it. That’s the most painful thing I every experience as a child my arm stayed soar for long time.

  11. painful2: thanks for stopping by.
    Your experience sounds a lot like mine.

  12. Wow! Pretty-funny story about the bunny! I will definitely use this method! Thanx. The nurse. >:-)

  13. annymorris: I’ve already got my vaccination … so go ahead and use this method.
    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

