First Memory

 
 
 
 July 20th, 1969: Apollo 11 Moon Landing.

It was my sister’s birthday, I was 4 years old.
I remember it because our family tradition was to eat the birthday cake and then open presents. We finished dinner, and then everyone rushed to the old black and white TV to watch the moon landing.
For my sister: no cake, no presents.
She cried like crazy.

My oldest brother (15 years older) was working in Peru at the time.
He remembers hearing it on the radio.
He was so excited he borrowed someone’s motorcycle and drove out into the country.
He saw a farmer out in a field working with a cow pulling a plow.
He yelled to the farmer in Spanish, “We’ve just landed on the moon!

The farmer looked at him and replied, “Leave me alone you crazy gringo!

 
 
 
note: actually I remember riding around on the vacuum cleaner while my Mom cleaned the day before the moon landing, but I still do that so it’s no big deal.
 
double note: only the cow was pulling the plow, not the farmer and the cow.
One response to “First Memory

  1. Great fun.

Leave a Reply

